user login 

Statistical Physics of Complex Systems
7-11 May 2019 Nordita, Stockholm



Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden

Organizing and Scientific Committee

  • Christian Beck (chair) (QMUL London)
  • Guido Caldarelli (Lucca)
  • Leticia Cugliandolo (Paris VI)
  • Ewa Gudowska-Nowak (Krakow)
  • Holger Kantz (MPI Dresden)
  • Paul Manneville (Palaiseau)
  • Stefano Ruffo (SISSA Trieste)
  • Raul Toral (IFISC Palma)

EPS - European Physical Society The above team of organizers is identical with the current Board of the Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division (SNPD) of EPS (the European Physical Society).

This will be the 2nd conference of the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division, connected with the award of the EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Prize. The previous conference, where the prize was awarded for the first time, was in Krakow in 2017.

For informal enquiries about this joint EPS-Nordita conference, contact the chair, Prof. Christian Beck (


Statistical mechanics provides a universal formalism to understand the behavior of a variety of complex systems on a variety of spatio-temporal scales. This conference will deal with a selection of the most recent developments and cutting edge scientific research topics within the general area of nonequilibrium statistical physics, stochastic modelling, complex networks, nonlinear dynamical systems, chaos and turbulence, disordered quantum systems and spin glasses, phase transitions and critical phenomena, and interdisciplinary applications in physics, biology, economics, and the social sciences. There will be ample opportunity for informal discussions and interdisciplinary interaction between people from different scientific backgrounds within the broad area of statistical and nonlinear physics.

The conference will include a number of topical areas that represent major recent developments in the field, such as recent progress in stochastic thermodynamics, fluctuation theorems, non-equilibrium systems and entropy production, small complex systems, quantum thermodynamics, billiards and deterministic diffusion, anomalous diffusion processes, superstatistical processes, large deviation theory, long-range interactions, extreme events, multiplex and multilayer complex networks, time-evolving complex networks and their applications. The plan is to allow for a fruitful exchange of ideas between different subject areas. Possible adoption and further refinement of useful techniques of statistical physics in an interdisciplinary setting will be a major goal. In addition there will also be a special symposium session on a more applied topic: For 2019 we have chosen the topic "Statistical Physics of Power Grids", an area in which many people have recently started to work in, and where statistical physics methods can be very usefully applied to better understand the effect of renewables and trading in present and future power grids.

Confirmed Invited Speakers

  • Erik Aurell, Stockholm
  • A-Laszlo Barabasi, Boston
  • Debra Bernhardt, Queensland
  • Ginestra Bianconi, London
  • Leonid Bunimovich, Atlanta
  • Gavin Crooks, Berkeley
  • Thierry Dauxois, Lyon
  • Bernard Derrida, Paris
  • Andrea Gabrielli, Rome
  • Peter Haenggi, Augsburg
  • Chris Jarzynski, Maryland
  • Kimmo Kaski, Aalto
  • Katja Lindenberg, San Diego
  • Robert MacKay, Warwick
  • Michael Mackey, Montreal
  • Christian Maes, Leuven
  • Peter McClintock, Lancaster
  • Ralf Metzler, Potsdam
  • David Mukamel, Rehovot
  • Juan Parrondo, Madrid
  • M. Angeles Serrano, Barcelona
  • Christian van den Broeck, Hasselt
  • Aleksander Weron, Wroclaw

    EPS Statistical and Nonlinear Physics prize award session

    This prestiguous prize of the EPS Statistical Nonlinear Physics Division was created and awarded for the first time in 2017. It is given out every 2 years. The 2019 prize will be awarded during the conference in Stockholm.

    There will be 4 prize winners, 2 for the senior prize and 2 for the junior prize. Prize winners will be selected by the selection Committee in early February 2019, in consultation with the scientific community. The call for nominations is open now (deadline 31 January 2019). In 2017 the two senior prize winners were Itamar Procaccia and Peter Grassberger. The two junior ones were Laura Foini and Edgar Roldan. More information can be found at the website of the Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division (EPS-SNPD).

    Special applied symposium: Statistical Physics of Power Grids

    The invited speakers for this special 2-hour session on the statistics of frequency fluctuations in the power grid, with particular emphasis on statistical physics methods for renewables (wind and solar), demand response, storage and transmission will be Martin Greiner (Aarhus), Benjamin Schaefer (Dresden), Simona Olmi (ISC), Joachim Peinke (Oldenburg).

    Further symposia on special topics

    Depending on interests of participants, there is the possibility to organise further 2-hour mini-symposia on topics of particular interest. Please contact the conference chair with suggestions.

    Young scientists

    Participation of PhD students and young postdocs is strongly encouraged. We plan that also some young people at the beginning of their career will be given the chance of a short oral presentation (to be selected out of the poster contributions). Young scientists also have the possibility to apply for some limited financial support from EPS. Please e-mail explaining your circumstances. EPS Young Minds provides a few bursaries to students to attend this conference.

    Conference Fee (if paid before 7 February 2019)

    Regular participant: 400 Euro
    EPS member: 300 Euro
    PhD student or young postdoc (<2 years from PhD): 250 Euro
    PhD student or young postdoc that is EPS member: 200 Euro

    Please pay the conference fee by bank transfer to:
    Bank name: BNP PARIBAS Alsace Franche Comte
    Account holder: European Physical Society
    IBAN: FR76 3000 4004 4000 0100 5837 476, BIC: BNPAFRPPXXX
    Please quote your name and the reference SPCS19 Stockholm.
    To benefit from the reduced EPS conference fee, there is the possibility to become an EPS member.

    Registration and abstract submission

    To register for this conference, please fill in and submit the application form on the left panel.

    After receiving a confirmation message from the organisers, you may upload an abstract of your poster or talk contribution at the EasyChair website. If you don't have an account yet on the EasyChair website, just create one at the above link. The abstract should be no longer than half a page. If possible please provide us with the LaTeX source file of your abstract (preferred) or alternatively, PDF.

    Important dates

    25 January 2019: Abstract submission deadline (if you wish to be considered for a contributed talk)
    31 January 2019: Notification if your submission could be accepted as a talk (if not it will be a poster)
    07 February 2019: Last day of early bird rate of registration fee
    After this date, you can still register (and submit an abstract) but the conference fee will be slightly higher
    06 May 2019: Arrival day
    07 May 2019, 9am: Start of conference
    11 May 2019, 1pm: End of conference


    Nordita can provide a limited number of rooms and apartments in the Stockholm apartment hotel BizApartments. If you are interested in this accomodation, please indicate when registering for the conference.

    Sponsored by:

    Nordita EPS - European Physical Society

  • Dates: from 07 May 2019 09:00 to 11 May 2019 13:00
    Location: Nordita, Stockholm
    Room: Lecture room at AlbaNova Center
    Chairs: BECK, Christian
    CUGLIANDOLO, Letitia
    KANTZ, Holger
    RUFFO, Stefano
    TORAL, Raúl
    Additional info: Arrival day is Monday 6 May, departure day is Saturday 11 May.

    AlbaNova  | Last modified 22 January 2019 14:45  |  HELP