user login 

Bounding Transport and Chaos in Condensed Matter and Holography
from 20 August 2018 to 14 September 2018 Nordita, Stockholm



Nordita, Stockholm, Sweden


This program will explore recent developments in describing the dynamics of strongly-coupled quantum systems using the notion of fundamental, quantum bounds on transport, and their interplay with quantum chaos. Experiments, as well as theoretical results coming from quantum field theory, lattice models and gauge/gravity duality, hint that the late time dynamics of these systems is governed by a Planckian timescale, the shortest allowed by quantum mechanics. This timescale provides a bound on the growth of chaos and the scrambling of quantum information, saturated in theories with Einstein holographic duals. From the point of view of thermoelectric transport, this timescale may bound the diffusive processes which underpin the ubiquitous T-linear resistivity of the bad metallic phase of high Tc superconductors and other unconventional materials. Diffusive transport also emerges in exactly solvable, quantum chaotic models like the Sachdev-Ye-Kitaev model.

By bringing together international leaders in condensed matter and high energy physics, we aim at enhancing our current understanding by combining experimental results and the various theoretical, non-perturbative approaches to these problems. Participants will include experts in thermoelectric transport experiments, hydrodynamics, gauge/gravity duality, numerical and analytic condensed matter theory and conformal field theory.

Application for participation to this program is open

Confirmed invited participants include

  • Kamran Behnia (ESPCI, Paris)
  • Mike Blake (MIT)
  • Sera Cremonini (Lehigh)
  • Richard Davison (Harvard)
  • Anatoly Dymarsky (Kentucky)
  • Aristomenis Donos (Durham)
  • Johannes Gooth (MPI Dresden)
  • Saso Grozdanov (MIT)
  • Nigel Hussey (Radboud U., Nijmegen)
  • Nabil Iqbal (Durham)
  • Kristan Jensen (San Francisco State U)
  • Aharon Kapitulnik (Stanford)
  • Elias Kiritsis (Crete and APC, Paris)
  • Pavel Kovtun (Victoria)
  • Andy Lucas (Stanford)
  • John McGreevy (UC San Diego)
  • Andrew Mackenzie (MPI Dresden)
  • Christiana Pantelidou (Durham)
  • Frank Pollman (TUM Münich)
  • Tomaz Prosen (U. of Ljubljana)
  • Thomas Scaffidi (Berkeley)
  • Koenraad Schalm (Leiden)
  • Peter Schauss (Princeton)
  • Joerg Schmalian (KIT Karlsruhe)
  • Stephen Shenker (Stanford)
  • Effrat Shimshoni (Bar-Ilan)
  • Andrei Starinets (Oxford)
  • Joseph Thywissen (Toronto)
  • Jan Zaanen (Leiden)


Sponsored by:


Dates: from 20 August 2018 09:00 to 14 September 2018 18:00
Location: Nordita, Stockholm
Room: 122:026
Chairs: GOUTéRAUX, Blaise
BERG, Erez

AlbaNova  | Last modified 20 June 2018 01:30  |  HELP